Cross Your Fingers

I mentioned a few posts ago that while I was contemplating ceasing to write in this space I discovered that I had been tinkering around with this blog for many years. Much longer than I realized actually. In fact, I believe it started out as a B-town Beans blog.

During the process I also launched a silly, more personal blog I called The Hensonberg Times. It did not last long, maybe 5 posts, as I had the misfortune of launching it right after taking a new position that required me to work what seemed like day and night. I just checked and the blog still exists actually. I read a couple of the posts and they were pretty enjoyable reads if I do say so myself.

I’m telling you all of this because I’m about ready to make another change with this blog. No, I’m not going to stop writing it. I enjoy writing too much, regardless of whether anyone really enjoys reading it. It is something I do for myself so no pressure. What I have decided to do, however, is step up my game a little and move the location of the blog from a free site that sometimes hassles you with ads and which I don’t technically own, to a self-hosted site that should be much cleaner and hopefully more enjoyable…and whose control and ownership is mine.

Now I’m not an idiot when it comes to computers, but I’m no genius either, so as I get ready in the next couple days to move the site to a new home I hope I don’t screw it up! Not that anyone wants to read any of the old stuff but I hope I don’t lose it. I’m just telling you this in case things get weird and everything disappears for a few days. Cross your fingers.

Later,

Shep

Leave a comment