What Matters Most

 If you’ve read more than a couple of my blogs you have an idea of what is important to me. You could probably sum me up in 2 words: motorcycles and coffee, in that order. Yet as much as I am passion-driven by those things, they are not what’s on my mind today. On this sunny afternoon, while I watch the waves roll in on the same beach I’ve been walking for the past 22 years, I’m not dreaming of a new bike, a road trip, or a finely roasted bean. No, I’m thinking about what matters most…people. That’s saying a lot coming from a self-professed loner like me.

For those of you who stumbled upon this blog in your journey, this post may not mean much; no moto talk today. But them again, maybe you will identify after all. For those of you who happen to live within my daily circle, you will understand. Over the course of the past several weeks I have been both the witness and recipient of the best thing on this planet…the kindness of people. Sure, there is plenty of ugly in the wold. The news media makes it their business to keep you convinced the world is pure evil. But its not. When things get ugly, when your world goes to shit, people come from everywhere to lend a hand, a prayer a kind act. It is a truly amazing and humbling thing to see. Make no mistake, people, ordinary people…soccer moms, relatives, casual acquaintances, friends, strangers from across the country you’ve never met…are the most incredible gift we have. 

And just in case any of you wonderful people who live north of me in the land of Amish Crack and RVs are reading this blog, you have my undying gratitude for your acts of kindness. You are my modern day heroes. 

This song has nothing to do with what I wrote, I don’t think, but its been rolling around in my head all day, so take it as a bonus:

By the way, if you have or are going to see Petty this tour, I’m jealous!

Later, 

Shep

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Matters Most

Leave a Reply

