As Good a Reason as Any

I blame my love for coffee for creating my interest in craft beer. Discovering the complexity of coffee origins eventually led me down the path toward the unique and complex flavors brewed into craft beer. Or maybe I just like to drink! When I was in my late teens and early twenties, I drank a lot of beer. It usually consisted of Miller Lite, Bud, Olympia, Little Kings, Shlitz, PBR, Fallstaff, Old Style, Stroh’s or if I was feeling really uppity, Heiniken. But of course, the only reason I was drinking back then was to get drunk.

These days I have no interest in being drunk or impaired to any degree. But I do enjoy the craft of a well-brewed beer. I enjoy just about every style, but it would probably come as no surprise to you that Founder’s Breakfast Stout ranks up there as maybe my number 1 favorite beer of all time…how could it not be…it’s full of coffee!

The reason I’ve been thinking about beer so early this morning is that I was pondering taking a ride. And every time I think about a ride, I think about where I want to ride to. For me, the ride is not about the destination, but you still have to have some direction. So, what better destination than a craft brewery? There are so many new breweries popping up these days that I was thinking I could make it a goal this year to make different breweries part of my weekend ride plans. It’s as good a reason to ride as any! This map below shows breweries within 100 miles of me…all 116 of them!screen-shot-2017-02-19-at-7-37-29-am

It won’t happen today, but first on my list: Braxton Brewing in Covington, KY. I’ve been meaning to check them out for a while. Never had their beer before, but I liked this sign so well that I bought it for my garage wall! braxton-9-19-16-32_1024x1024

Stay tuned…adventures to follow.

Later,

Shep

2 thoughts on “As Good a Reason as Any

  1. Ooo, I’m a sucker for a good craft beer. It tends to surprise others that–despite our screwy, screwy liquor laws and our reputation for being, er, naive?–here in Utah we have some amazing breweries and distilleries.

    One of my favorite beers is our local Squatter’s Espresso Stout: It goes fast when it’s on tap, and it’s one of the few brews that Squatter’s doesn’t bottle. Another favorite is Epic’s Sour IPA–a perfect complement to something sweet and Chinese, like sesame chicken. Mmm…

    So, coffee love led you to greater beer appreciation: Wouldn’t that make coffee the real gateway drug?… 😀

Leave a Reply

