Focus

Over the many years that I have written this blog there is one thing you could count on; not knowing what the subject matter might be. I have been known to write about just about anything. The subject matter has ranged from my day job to craft beer, roasting coffee to some of my twisted life philosophies, my wonderful family…and sometimes even motorcycles. It has served no real purpose beyond giving me an outlet to write for my own personal pleasure. The fact that someone else has read it and occasionally even enjoyed it, is a bonus.

I’m at a point where I’m thinking about making a big change to this blog. Adjusting the focus if you will. Actually, to be more accurate, I’m considering launching a completely new blog with an entirely new name…and a new focus: motorcycles and all things related. Bikes have been a huge part of my life since I was just a little boy. That will continue as long as I am physically able to swing my leg over the saddle.

I realize that some of you who read this page don’t really care about motorcycles at all. In fact, it is fair to say that I get the most readership when I write about my family or other more personal and relatable items. And maybe I will continue to do that on this very spot; that has yet to be determined. However, as I grow into a new way of seeing my life as it unfolds through time, I think I’d really like to dedicate some energy into writing about the thing I love only second to my family, two wheel adventure.

I will never be a mountain climber or a famous athlete, nor a rock star. I won’t discover the cure for cancer and chances are likely I won’t become a well known coffee roaster, but I still can and do have my own adventures every time I climb on one of my motorcycles and take a ride. And if you are so inclined, I’d like to begin telling you more about those moments. Like the time I rode my bike all the way to Deal’s Gap just to get the manager of my local Starbucks a t-shirt. And yes, for those ADV riders out there who get the joke…I was riding a GS!

IMG_3887

It won’t be a technical blog. I’m no mechanic. Hopefully it will be entertaining, occasionally funny, a magnification of real life with a bit of Shepherd sarcasm thrown in for good measure. Even the non rider might enjoy it. The goal will be to keep it relatable to as broad an audience as possible. I might do some bike, equipment and road reviews, my way. I will detail some rides and the adventures that go along with being out there on two wheels. I might even throw a video blog in here or there, who knows. Oh, and some new photos if I can make myself stop and take them. Super serious? No. Fun loving and light hearted? I hope so. Entertaining? If not, then just tell me to put the keyboard down and take up golf.

I have no idea how long before I make the change. Heck, I don’t even know what I’m going to call it yet! If you have any great ideas, I”m open to suggestions.

Later,

Shep

One thought on “Focus

  1. Wouldn’t it be great if you could get a motorcycle manufacturer to sponsor you to take trips with their motorcycle and the write about it?

Leave a Reply

