One Cup At A Time

When I was heavily into the roasting business I always thought it ironic that I had thousands of pounds of the finest green coffee in the world in storage at my shop, yet no one at my house drank coffee. It was like being a wine collector in a house full of teetotalers. A lumberjack living among tree huggers. A butcher among vegans (Hi kids!). You get the idea.

Aside from riding the wave of manual coffee brewers and collecting every possible device I could get my hands on, I’ve never really found the need for a large capacity drip coffee maker. I do own one, however, On my desk at work sits a 10 cup Technivorm that I make about 12oz at a time in. A bit of a waste. For obvious reasons I have gravitated to equipment that allows you to make one cup of coffee at a time. And, no, I”m not talking about the Keurig.

I tend to go in cycles when it comes to brewing coffee. For the past six or eight months my morning routine during the week has consisted almost exclusively of the Aeropress, the cheap, plastic syringe that looks like it belongs on late night infomercials, yet makes a really rich cup of coffee.

Once I get to work, I have options. If I’m in a hurry or feeling lazy, I fire up the Technivorm. But I also have an electric kettle, scales, grinder and a Chemex at my desk. Weekends at home generally see the Chemex on the counter, or a Hario, Vac pot or some other gadget as my mood dictates. One thing they all have in common, however, is that I use them all to make one cup at a time.

I must confess, however, that even a coffee nerd like me can appreciate convenience. Or maybe I’m just getting lazy, because I went out and bought a one cup drip coffee maker for my house. No, I already told you, it’s not a Keurig! I said I was getting lazy; I didn’t say I lost my mind! Instead, I bought a Technivorm Cup One…and lucky for me, I got it on sale because it is expensive.

Lately the Cup One has replaced my Aeropress, mostly for the sake of convenience, as I fumble around in the early morning getting ready for work. How does it work? Well, it’s no Chemex or Hario, but honestly, it gets the job done, which is delivering an eye-opening hit of C8H1ON402 (caffeine). There is only one thing that worries me. I’m pretty certain that one of these mornings in my half-awake, caffeine-deprived stupor, I’m going to turn on the machine…and forget to put a cup underneath.IMG_2186

Later,

Shep

Leave a Reply

