The Perfect Marriage: Coffee and Beer

Batman and Robin. The Lone Ranger and Tonto. Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire. Peanut butter and jelly. Unions that work. Partnerships that created something greater than the individual elements. Some couplings just make sense. Which begs the question, ” Am I the only one who thinks a craft coffee roastery and a micro brewery make the perfect marriage?” Sure, beer and coffee have been combined many times by many breweries to make a stout. Everybody has one. But that’s not what I’m talking about. I’m talking about a shared space, shared business model and shared customers.

I may be mistaken, but this seems like a match made in heaven. It is a partnership that seems obvious and natural to me, yet I must be missing something because there are very few in existence. Not only that but I have as of yet been able to talk a single microbrewery into joining me on such a venture.

Think about it for a minute. The same individuals who have an interest in drinking freshly roasted specialty coffee are often the same people who also seek out craft beer. This is not the Folgers and Bud Light crowd. This is the kind of person who appreciates quality, individuality and creative artisan labor, not corporate mass production.

Now think about the space. Microbreweries work to develop their product during the day, then open their taproom up for customers in the afternoon. At 7:00 a.m. the bar is deserted. Well, I stumbled into Skinners Tavern in Bloomington at 8:00 in the morning once and they were serving…but that’s another story! Coffee bars, on the other hand, draw their best crowd in the early morning hours and then slow down as the day progresses, finally tapering off when the magic hour arrives. You know, the hour in which we can order a beer without feeling guilty.

So, doesn’t it make sense that these two craft businesses come together to capitalize on both space and customer base? Does to me. If there were one close to me, I’d head there in the morning for my coffee, then just hang out till the bar started serving beer. Uh, maybe I just discovered the problem!

2015/01/img_0240.jpg
Later,

Shep

Leave a Reply

