The Diet

If you happen to be one of the 3 lonely people who regularly read my blogs then you might remember that the Dr. gave me 2 months to improve my health through diet and exercise or else I could go buy a pill box. That was 3 or 4 weeks ago. I thought I’d take a minute and let you know how it’s going.

First off, let me just get this out of the way; diets suck! I have not had a single piece of red meat in nearly 4 weeks! No bacon, no steak, no gravy, no cheeseburger, no pie. Not even on Thanksgiving! I’m not saying that I won’t cheat a little bit somewhere along the way, but so far there has been very little sinful pleasure. What am I eating? Well, sorry you asked. Chicken, turkey, egg whites, oatmeal, oatmeal, egg whites, turkey, chicken, veggies, some fruit, oatmeal, egg whites, veggies, chicken, turkey. Yeah, that’s about it I think.

The big thing I was trying to reduce was sugar. Even though I didn’t think I was consuming that much sugar, I guess I was. I mean, I’m not really a candy bar kind of guy. Not that much for cake either. Donuts? Nope. Yes, I love pie, but it’s not like I eat pie every week…not even every month. Still, I needed to reduce my sugar intake so I started reading labels. What I discovered is that sugar is like Taylor Swift; it’s everywhere!

Pick up a sauce, a dressing, a bottle, can or pouch of practically anything and there it is…sugar. I have so significantly reduced my sugar intake that when I decided to sneak a piece of that chewy red and white Christmas candy that looks like a peppermint, I had to spit it out! It was so sweet I thought I was going to throw up. I took a road trip recently, so I grabbed a Kind bar to snack on. I could not eat it. After taking a bite, I had to rinse my mouth out with water. Sugar, you devil, you.

Speaking of water, that’s just about all I’m drinking. I have my morning coffee, and maybe some later in the day. I will make a little unsweetened tea. Other than that, water. As much as I like craft beer, I have only had 1. Talk about boring. Especially considering I just got this cool pint mug and am itching to fill it with one of these fine local brews.IMG_0262

Well, with all the holiday events upcoming, I’m pretty sure I’m going to get that mug broken in one way or another. On the bright side, I’ve gone back to pushing the weights around in the gym regularly, which I have to admit does feel good. And I’m riding the bicycle trainer 3-4 days a week. I’ve lost 5 pounds so far and my energy level has increased.I’d like to lose about 10 more before I return to the doctor. My wife thinks that’s a bit excessive, that I will look like Matthew McConaughey in The Dallas Buyer’s Club, but I don’t think there is any danger in that.

Well, I’ve got to run. We have a Christmas party to attend tonight. I sure hope they are serving oatmeal!

Later,

Shep

2 thoughts on “The Diet

  1. I got that same talk from my doc last week jamie, so I’ve been eating steel cut oats ev morn. Feel her pain. My favorite way is with honey golden org raisins and pecans

Leave a Reply

