Day 5: Guzzi’s & Other Oddities

I took a road trip from my road trip on day 5. There is a Moto Guzzi dealership south of Charlotte, so I pointed the bike East and headed out. I've been fortunate enought to own several unique European bikes over the years, but I've never owned a Moto Guzzi. Never even ridden one. Same is true for KTM, although I have ridden a few of those. At any rate, those two bikes are high on my list of “need to own,” sooner or later.

Guzzi's are unique machines. Here's a little eye candy for you.

Speaking of oddities, no shortage of them around here. I thought about walking around town and taking some photos to demonstrate the eclectic nature of this community, but I just don't have the patience for that. I'd rather ride. Where most cities have a street or neighborhood of starving artists, vagabonds, runaways and aging hippies, Asheville is “all that, everywhere, all the time!” But, since I fit all those categories at least a little, it works for me. I think it would drive most people my age nuts.

Other random notes from the road:

1. I can't tell you how many times people have asked me if I'm hot in this suit. What do you think? Yes, I'm hot, but I didn't get to this point in my riding career by taking needless chances.

2. The more I sample other people' coffee, the more I think I should quit my job and go 100%. Not saying they are bad or that mine is better, but it sure as Helll is just as good.

3. I can't stand to be around people who have conversations speaking into their phone so that all the world can hear. If you do that, stop it!

4. I can't stand that I have so many feakin' electronic gadgets to charge that I can't keep track of the cords!

5. I'd like to ride home, pick up my wife and spend the rest of my life traveling. Anyone want to finance that for me?

Later,

Shep

 

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Guzzi’s & Other Oddities

Leave a Reply

