Beach Blog…Last Call

It is 2:25 in the afternoon. I’ve been on the beach since 7:30. Now I’m on the balcany, sipping a cheap Mexican beer and typing my final entry from the Paradise Coast. We leave for the airport at 5:00, board at 7:20 and should land in Indy at 10:00 tonight. Then it’s a 2 hour drive back to Louisville. Right now things are peaceful. The water is calm, the gentle waves making a soothing “swoosh,” my skin…on fire! It feels just like yesterday and the day before and the one before that. It doesn’t feel like it’s over, but I know it is. I feel like throwing a temper tantrum! “Please, don’t make me go home!” Would that work? If so, I’m not above trying.

There is really nothing left to say; I love it here. I want to stay. I want to sell everything we own and move…oh, wait! We practically did. We are in the midst of selling our house now. So I guess that means we could live anywere we want…except for those pesky nuisances called “jobs.” Ick.

I have a plan though: start a coffee roasting business here in Naples. I’m ready. I just need someone to pay for it all! Is that asking too much? Heck, how about a weekly plane ticket? I will keep living in Louisville, working the soul-sucking day job and fly to Naples every weekend to roast. Hire someone else to market and deliver it…there we go! Please do not use logic to shoot holes in my plan. Let me bask in the concept for at least a few days. After all, no more basking in the sun for a while.

Might as well leave you the way the days leave us here…another glorious sunset.

Later,

Shep

 

Leave a Reply

