I’m a Rocker

I had a long night last night. Got home a little after 2:00 am and didn’t drag my ass out of bed until nearly 9:00 this morning. I brewed up two coffee samples that I’m making a purchase decision on: a very nice Brazil that will get the go ahead nod and a Washed Ethiopian Kochere that I’m still chewing on. You would think that “exercise” would get my blood flowing, but I can’t seem to wake up today. I sat down on the couch and fired up the newly purchased “Sweet Summer Sun: Hyde Park Live – The Rolling Stones.

As they wrapped up “It’s Only Rock & Roll” and ramped up the audience with “Street Fighting Man” I got to thinking about the crowd. As you can guess, there were a lot of gray hairs, like myself, in the audience. There was also a surprisingly large number of younger people. I noticed several women, close to my wife’s age, who looked like they were really “into” the music and enjoying themselves thoroughly. That made me think of my wife and how different we are in some respects. I’m a Rolling Stones kind of guy. I prefer the “hard edge” and rowdy crowd to the polished performer and polite clap. I remember hearing Keith Richards say once that the Beatles already had the white hat, so what’s left? The black hat!

My wife, she is more of a “white hat” kind of girl. “Don’t drink, don’t smoke, what do you do?” She is not into motorcycles, too dangerous…and will mess up her hair! (love you honey!). Coffee? No way. Craft beer? Stinks! Disgusting! Rock music? Uh, turn that screaming guitar off. It’s giving me a headache! I told her the other day that if the Stones come anywhere close to us on tour one more time, I’m going and I don’t care what the tickets cost. I cannot imagine seeing my wife “rock out” to “Gimme Shelter!” I will admit though, she does know how to “let go” on the dance floor. I’ve seen it once and I loved it! evphoto_reception_156I love her to death, but we sure don’t see eye to eye when it comes to music! I’m not really sure who she listens to, but I know when I hear them on the radio, they move me…to want to change the channel!

There seems to be a resurgence of the British “Mod’s & Rockers” culture happening in the motorcycle world. Lot’s of  classic bikes being restored or turned into cafe bikes. I like it. If you are not familiar with the “Mods and Rockers, ” they were a couple British subculture groups in the 60’s. Loosely speaking, the Mods wore designer clothes, rode scooters and listened to groups like The Who, The Kinks, etc. The Rockers, rode “proper” motorcycles at high speeds, wore leather jackets, boots and listed to rock music. The two groups clashed in a riot in 1964.

Okay, so what’s that got to do with my wife and I? Well, it’s obvious, isn’t it? My wife is a “Mod” and me…I’m a Rocker. Let the rumble begin! Mods-vs-Rockers-Logo

Later,

Shep

p.s. I’m awake now…

2 thoughts on “I’m a Rocker

  1. Good morning from Las Vegas! (Still AM out here). Count up two more votes for the Mods. (we’ve see Paul McCartney twice). Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

