Restraint

If you were to ask me if I was a patient person, I would have to concede that I’m not. If my wife happened to be close by, you would know by her hysterical laughter that I am the polar opposite of patient. I barely have the patience to sit down for a meal. This past weekend we decided to check out a local festival. The place was packed out. The street was lined with booths that were selling everything from tire swings to foot long corn dogs. The crowd strolled up one side of the street and down the other, “bumper to bumper” as it were. I nearly went insane.

Patience is not my virtue. Restraint, on the other hand, is something I can identify with. Sunday morning I awoke to a perfect riding day. The temperature was in the high 50s, the sun was shining and the weather man said we would top out in the low 70s. I pulled my Roadcrafter out of the closet, grabbed my helmet, kissed my wife and rolled out of the garage. The Street Triple fired right up, just like always, and settled into that lovely mechanical tone that is filled with the promise of adventure. I pulled out onto the road and twisted the throttle. The lightweight champ sprung to life, Springsteen reaching a crescendo in my helmet (yes, I sometimes listen to music in my headset). This is where “restraint” comes into play. Riding a motorcycle, especially a short wheel based naked sport bike, is a lot like riding in the front car in the latest, greatest, highest, fastest, baddest roller coaster. Only difference is, you control the speed! Some days it is all I can do to behave myself. In my mind, I find myself back in time 35 years, riding through our “back 40” on my RM 125, launching the front wheel in the air, while the rear plows the field like a John Deere tractor. Then I remind myself, “I am on the street right now. Behave.”

Problem is, I don’t want to behave. I want to rebel. I want to “let go.” I have been showing restraint for a really long time…and now, as you might guess, I’ve switched subjects. I’m not talking about bikes. I’m talking about life. The engine is revving. The throttle is in my hand. The clutch is pulled, the shifter tapped into place. I have control. The adrenaline has been building for a while. It has just about peaked. It is too late to stop it now. Stay tuned…a wild ride is coming.EM109731_lowres

Later,

Shep

Leave a Reply

