Random Thoughts from the Road

Here are some random thoughts that floated through my head as I rode my Triumph to Asheville today:

1. Working night shift sucks. For the past 16 months I have been going to bed between 1:30-3:00 am. Try as I might, I cannot go to sleep before that, no matter what day it is. I fell asleep at 2:00 am this morning and was up at 5:00…ugh.
2. Every year when it gets close to Fall, I take a ride and forget that temperatures in the 60s can be chilly on a bike over along period of time. I usually remember this when I take a trip and fail to bring a single warm piece of clothing…hint, hint.
3. What do you call a “group” of insects? A flock? A swarm? Whatever they are, I murdered a gaggle of them this morning.

20130902-173859.jpg
4. Most modern motorcycles can easily surpass the highest posted speed limits with only 2 gears, 3 at the most. Yet God gave us 6. This proves the Bible is right…God is “righteous!” And a dude!
5. Even though I live in Kentucky, the people at the gas station in the south eastern corner of the state made me feel like a northerner. In fact, I’m not sure they even speak English!
6. They do not sell cars in south eastern Kentucky, only pickup trucks.
7. Haven’t seen one of these in a while. I thought about getting some and just pouring it on the floor. It couldn’t have hurt!

20130902-174445.jpg
8. Yes, they had one of these too!

20130902-174529.jpg
9. I forgot how “Bohemian” Asheville was. I had not been in town 5 minutes before I saw 2, 70s model VW Vans. Groovy.
10. They don’t call Asheville “Beer City” for nothing. over 11 craft brewers in town, over 25 in the state, including the recent additions of New Belgium and Sierra Nevada. I thoroughly enjoyed this local sampler, with Green Man’s IPA and Pisgah’s Organic Pale Ale being my favorites.

Disclaimer: with all the beer talk, you are probably getting the impression I am some sort of drunk. Actually, I have not been intoxicated for over 33 years. I never drink more than one when I’m out unless I stay for a very long time and on the bike I have a very strict, one drink, low alcohol rule. I went for over 10 years without drinking at all. I got back into craft beer as a result of my coffee roasting endeavor. There, I feel better!

Later,

Shep

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts from the Road

Leave a Reply

