Courage

I am filled with envy. Jealous, I tell you. And excited. And a bit proud. For a dreamer, I’ve lived a “play it safe” life for the most part. I always told my kids that they should find happiness, seek it, demand it. I’ve told them not to be afraid to risk leaving the normal for the unknown. I’ve said, “follow your heart, chase your dreams.” At least one of them listened. Kind of scary now! What have I done! Actually, it is my son-in-law who has made the move.

After several years and plenty of ladder climbing, my son-in-law left his secure, well paying job to join an unknown, small company. Why? Many reasons, I’m sure, but not the least of these is that they align with his belief system. The things that are important to him are also important to them. And they are still a passion-filled group, not having sold their soul to the CFO or the shareholders.

It takes a lot of courage to make this kind of move. It is not easy to leave the known for the unknown, to trade the safe for the uncertain. A lot of people will think he is crazy. They will think he made the wrong move. They will assume it will not end well. I’m not one of those people I am thrilled that someone has attempted to “escape,” to tell the world, “I don’t have to do it the way you want me to.” The bravest and wisest of souls are those who decide to direct their own paths. Most of us spend our lives trying to fit our round pegs into square holes.

Us dreamers never really let go of our dreams. I was riding my bike this morning and heard Springsteen sing “Better Days.”  A few lines of that song have always stood out to me (so I’m a Springsteen fan; live with it!):

Well my soul checked out missing as I sat listening
To the hours and minutes tickin’ away
Yeah just sittin’ around waitin’ for my life to begin
While it was all just slippin’ away
I’m tired of waitin’ for tomorrow to come
Or that train to come roarin’ ’round the bend…

He went on to say…But it’s a sad man my friend who’s livin’ in his own skin and can’t stand the company….

That is sort of how I feel…just waitin’ for my life to begin. No wonder my wife isn’t a Springsteen fan! Congrats Nic! I’m in your corner and I’m proud!

Later,

Shep

Leave a Reply

