“To all the Girls I’ve Loved Before”

It’s all my parents’ fault. No, really. I did not learn this in an intensive session of psychotherapy. It is not a recent discovery, brought out in hypnosis while probing the depravity and darkness of my twisted mind.  I’ve known it all my life…and so have they. I was fortunate enough to grow up on a farm. My parents bought me my first mini bike at age 7 and I proceeded to “mark my territory” on those rough pastures.

That was the beginning of love affair that has lasted some 46 years. As I took the Street Triple out for a ride today and passed many other rider, it got me thinking about how fortunate I have been and how many wonderful motorcycles I have had the opportunity to own and ride. I suppose I’ve owned 30+ bikes in my lifetime, give or take. Unfortunately, I don’t have photos of many of the ones from my youth. There are others that I have prints of, but are not stored on my computer.

Some of the more recent rides have been digitized and I thought I’d share a few. So here is a brief tribute “To all the Girls I’ve Loved Before.”

DR1One of many Suzuki dual sports I owned. I also owned several motocross bikes.

640px-1971-Suzuki-TS250-Orange-5077-2This one is not mine, but I had one just like it.

photo(3)This RT was short-lived. My 3rd RT!

DSCF1696

My Multistrada Coffee Delivery Vehicle. I had two of them. A 1000 and an 1100S. Easily one of my all time favorite bikes

2002_1026_091116AANot mine, but I got to break it in by riding it from Indiana to Florida for a friend.

DSCF0029_2An 1150 GS that I put more miles on than any bike I ever owned.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe most capable Iron Butt ride I ever had. Naples, Florida to Bloomington Indiana in 17 hours

DSCF0004900 Monster that fulfilled all the Ducati “nightmares,” but it was still a blast to ride

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANot mine, but Ed at Commonwealth loaned it to me for a weekend. I’ve lusted for one ever since. I did own an ST2 though

DSC_0012My 2nd GS just didn’t click. I had 2 650 GS bikes as well

DSC_0029What a blast! 25 hp and I rode it harder than anything I ever owned. My “seat” did not like it though

SAM_0107Thought this Triumph would be the ultimate bike for me. Not.

2002_0525_094755AAMy 2nd RT. I had an 1100, this 1150 and a 1200. Great bikes, but just bigger than I like these days

IMG_0923My current ride

Aside from these, I had multiple dual sports, dirt bikes, mini bikes, a cruiser and….a Gold Wing…at the ripe old age of 24!

As you can see, I like to play the field!

Later,

Shep

 

 

Leave a Reply

