Never too late; never too old

I think I”m a “late bloomer.” There is no other explanation. I can’t blame it on a mid-life crisis; I had that years ago! At my age I am supposed to be settled in and coasting toward the retirement finish line. But I just can’t do it. I refuse to grow old gracefully. I refuse to settle. I refuse to give up on my dreams and extinguish my passions. My body tells me often that I’m getting old. Every time I lie down on the weight bench and grab a couple dumbells, my joints ache and say, “What the hell do you think you are doing?” My co-workers tell me I’m getting old: “You would have to be out of your mind to look for another job or start another business at your age!” Well, call me crazy, because I fully expect to start another coffee business in the not too distant future. I belong standing next to a roaster, clad in jeans and a Johnson Motors T, the unmistakable aroma and allure of freshly roasted coffee spinning in my cooling bin. I don’t plan on giving up on the weights either. Or the motorcycles. I’ve been invited to ride to Alaska this year and if my schedule allows, I will be going. I will be the youngster of the pack. The guy guiding me on the trip will be a young 70 years old!  Call me old if you want but I’m going out swinging. Motorhead Coffee will be back folks, bigger and better than ever…just you wait and see!

Later,

Shep

Leave a Reply

