Time to Fly

After a rather hectic evening of packing (sfuffing, cramming, smashing!), doing homework and getting coffee orders wrapped up and shipped, it’s time to head out. The only drawback to taking the early flight is getting up at 3:30 in the morning. Fortunately for me, 4:30 is my normal wake-up anyway. Right now I’m sipping a cup of “mystery coffee.” I have a bad habit of bringing samples from the shop and never labeling them. I believe it is a Costa Rica sample from one of my brokers. Not the best cup I ever had. The organic Kona I will be brewing on the road will be much better. My hat’s off to the Purple Mountain Farm for producing a very nice bean.

I have not really had much time to think about the bike. It has been 5 years since I was on a Beemer. I owned an FJR and a Ducati Multistrada in between. When I purchased the Duc, I rode it back to back with a 1200GS. I chose the lightweight Duc with that awesome air-cooled L-twin. It will be fun to see how the 1200GS compares to the Multi in my mind these days. I have made a mental commitment to spend more time on the road this year and I believe the GS will be the right tool for the job. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

